Friday, June 11, 2010

Review: My Invisible Boyfriend

My Invisible Boyfriend
By Susie Day
Publication date: April 1, 2010

My review:

At a party at the beginning of the school year a misunderstanding causes Heidi's friends to believe she met a guy over the summer. Instead of coming forward with the truth Heidi decides to continue the ruse since her friends are all dating people. She tells her friends that his name is Ed and that he goes to a boarding school in London. To make it more believable she creates an online presence for her Ed. Imagine her surprise when her friends start messaging Ed about their problems and writing about her. Then Heidi starts receiving flirty messages from a mystery guy who seems to know the truth.

Heidi is a quirky character with a great sense of humor. She loves to watch DVD episodes of her favorite spy show and has imaginary conversations with the main character, Mycroft Christie. It is hard for Heidi to adapt to the changes in her friends. She feels left behind since her friends have all paired up with guys. Heidi's behavior may seem odd at times and she does give in to flights of fancy but I think it makes her character believable. I found myself identifying with her as someone who has felt like an outsider. It can be hard on teens when their friends begin to date and they are not in a relationship. I think the book really handled this topic very well. One thing that was obvious to me early on was the identity of Heidi's mystery guy. Of course Heidi is clueless which leads to rather funny situations. I was very happy with whom she ended up because I thought he is a sweet guy and just perfect for her.

My Invisible Boyfriend is a cute and funny story about friendship and relationships. The book is set in England so there are some vocabulary differences but I was able to understand it without too much difficulty. The title suggests that the book is a romance but really the focus is on friendship which I found refreshing. Heidi and her friends are one of a kind. This would make a great summer book when you are in the mood for something light, sweet, and funny.

Readalikes: The Oracle of Dating by Allison van Diepen, A Match Made in High School by Kristin Walker, The Espressologist by Kristina Springer, The Lonely Hearts Club by Elizabeth Eulberg

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review


  1. Heya! This is a really great review of My Invisible Boyfriend! I, for one, thought it was more predictable, but even so, I agree with some of the things you stated here =) It's a really funny book!

    Reggie =)

    I'm here from the comment exchange program at Jami's blog; YA Addict =)

  2. This was one of my WoW picks a while back! It sounds like a good book focusing on friendship. Since reading The Lonely Hearts Club, I have been wanting to find more books like that. Thanks for the review!

  3. this book sounds like something i would really enjoy, Ive recently started getting into more of these kinds of books, awesome review! :)

  4. This sounds like a really fun read. From your reviews, its easy to see Heidi is an unforgettable character.

    Here from the The Comment Exchange Program :-)

  5. This sounds so cute and funny! I love that it's set in England, it makes it more interesting. I love how you added the readalikes in there (: Thanks for the great review Christina!

    Here from CEP as well :D

  6. Great review, I'm sure the publisher is very happy with your review. I want to read this book now!

    Here from CEP.


Reading Extensively is now an award free blog. Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a comment. I enjoy receiving feedback! Due to increase in spam, I've enabled comment moderation. Sorry for any inconvenience!