Sunday, January 20, 2013

Stacking the Shelves/In My Mailbox

This is my first Stacking the Shelves post and I haven't participated in IMM in months but I wanted to highlight some of the books I received for review because you can download and review them too if you sign up for an account with Edelweiss.

For review through Edelweiss:

Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger

I'm a big fan of the Parasol Protectorate series so I was excited to have the opportunity to review this YA book set in the same world.

Golden by Jessi Kirby

I loved Moonglass and this book sounds like a great YA contemporary novel too. 

The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler

I know we shouldn't judge books by their covers but I absolutely love this one! I also liked Ockler's Twenty Boy Summer a lot so I'm hopeful the story will be as great as the cover.

Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

I am super excited about this one. I am a big big fan of Sophie Kinsella and I plan to read this next month as soon as I can. Now she just needs to write another Becky Bloomwood book...

A Spear of Summer Grass by Deanna Raybourn

It may not be a Victorian mystery like her Julia Grey books but I am looking forward to starting A Spear of Summer Grass. I like that it is set in Kenya in the 1920s.

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

I am excited for this debut novel after reading the prequel novella. It is being compared to The Bourne Identity so I think it will be a lot of suspense...and fun.

Maid of Secrets by Jennifer McGowan

I like reading Tudor fiction and reading books with spies so this sounds like a win-win for me!

How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

I usually like road trip novels so I'm optimistic that I will enjoy this story. 

Thorn Abbey by Nancy Olin

This is a modern retelling of Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier for teens. I am really intrigued...

A Moment Comes by Jennifer Bradbury

I've already read this YA historical novel set in India and I loved it! Very different from the other book I read by the author (Wrapped) which was equally good in its own way.

Chantress by Amy Butler Greenfield

This is a YA debut that I was really interested in because of the combination of history and magic.

Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson

This is a YA retelling of the Bluebeard fairy tale and I think it sounds really promising! The description on Edelweiss says it will appeal to fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey (that's me!) and it is set in the South before the Civil War.

Do you use Edelweiss? If you are a book blogger willing to read e-ARCs, you should definitely check it out! In addition to reviewing the e-ARCs they offer, I like to post reviews for other books they have listed in their catalogs so publishers get more feedback. I also like to see what other people thought of books I'm interested in purchasing for the library or reading for myself.

If you don't read e-books, I hope you will add some of these to your TBR list!

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews and IMM is hosted by The Story Siren


  1. So jealous you got Golden! I love Jessi Kirby! I hope you enjoy all you got :)

    Here's my STS!

  2. I love the cover of The Book of Broken Hearts too! Besides I think the whole don't judge a book by its cover applies more to books with awful covers. We should still give the ugly cover books a shot. Right?

    Happy reading :)

  3. Amazing haul this week! I'm super excited for Mila 2.0, Chantress, and Thorn Abbey. I hope you enjoy everything!

    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  4. Great, Great, Great books this week! They look amazing!
    Check out my IMM/ STS!

  5. You got a great list! I've been on Edelweiss for a while but don't seem to get approved for many titles; I have much better luck with Netgalley although I still try to leave reviews where I can especially when I love a book and feel like it hasn't gotten much buzz.

  6. Wow, great haul! The cover for Mila 2.0 looks awesome! I can't wait to read it. Happy reading, I hope you enjoy your books! :)

    Emz @ Icy Cold Reads

  7. I recently found out out Sophie Kinsella newest and think it looks like so much fun! Although I still haven't read her most recent, with a new book by her coming out I definitely need to get on that!

  8. So jealous of Golden. Cant wait to see what you think of it. Enjoy!
    My IMM

  9. I love Sophie Kinsella and am right there with you wishing she would write another Beckie Bloomwood book. Wedding Night does look good, though.

    Have a great week and thanks for stopping by my blog!
    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

  10. The Book of Broken Hearts! Golden! Chantress! Ah, I'm so jealous. I can't wait to read your thoughts on them!

    Hope you enjoy everything :)


Reading Extensively is now an award free blog. Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a comment. I enjoy receiving feedback! Due to increase in spam, I've enabled comment moderation. Sorry for any inconvenience!