Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Top Ten Beach Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. There is a new subject each week and this week's topic is "Top Ten Beach Reads".

When I think of beach reads, I think of books that are lighthearted and funny so here are some of my favorites. Unfortunately I've never had the opportunity to read any of them while sitting on a beach...

1. Anything by Sophie Kinsella

While my favorite Sophie Kinsella books are the Shopaholic series, I know that Becky Bloomwood isn't for everyone. One of Sophie Kinsella's most popular non-Shopaholic books is The Undomestic Goddess. Another fun beach read is her latest, I've Got Your Number. The only Sophie Kinsella book that disappointed me is Twenties Girl which I didn't like because of the ghost. If you are a fan of chick lit, Sophie Kinsella is a sure bet.

2. Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie

Bet Me is a good pick for fans of chick lit and romance. Min and Cal have a lot of obstacles to overcome on their way to happy ever after but it is a lot of fun to read. 

3. Spring Fever by Mary Kay Andrews

From the beach themed flip flops on the cover to the warm Southern setting, this is a good book to add to your beach bag if you like second chance love stories. 

4. Austenland and Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale

I put these on the list because for Jane Austen enthusiasts, what better place to take a vacation than Pembrook Park where you dress and act like it is the Regency era and have the opportunity to meet your own Mr. Darcy? Austenland is a straightforward contemporary romance but Midnight in Austenland also involves a potential murder mystery. Austenland is even being made into a movie...Also try Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler about a modern woman who wakes up in Regency England (if you liked the movie Lost in Austen then you should definitely try that book).

5. Driftwood Summer by Patti Callahan Henry

Driftwood Summer is about three sisters, two of whom are estranged, reuniting at their Georgia beachfront hometown to try and save the family bookstore. There is romance also as the guy who came between the two older sisters years ago returns for a visit. This might be a good pick for fans of authors like Nancy Thayer and Elin Hilderbrand.

6. Seven Year Switch by Claire Cook

Really a number of Claire Cook's books would be great beach reads (like her latest Wallflower in Bloom) but Seven Year Switch stood out to me and it features travel to Costa Rica. Main character Jill Murray has been a single mom to her daughter Anastasia since her husband abandoned them seven years before. Jill is now working as a travel agent and teaching cooking classes to make ends meet when she has the opportunity to go on a trip to Costa Rica. Then her husband comes back into her life just as she meets someone new. What I like about this book is that though there is romance, it isn't the sole focus. I enjoyed reading about Jill's travels too.

7. Stay by Allie Larkin

Stay is about a woman who has just watched her best friend marry the guy she loves. She goes home, gets drunk, and goes online where she makes an unusual purchase. Suddenly she finds herself the owner of a $6,000 German Shepard from Slovakia. If you like books with humor, friendship, romance, and cute dogs, this book might be just right for you!

8. Sixteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton

Sixteenth Summer is a sweet love story that takes place on an island near Georgia. Anna's same-old summer of working in her family's ice cream shop takes a turn when she meets Will on the beach. Will and his family are vacationing on Dune Island for the summer and the two quickly hit it off but Anna knows it can't last because at the end of the summer, Will has to return to New York. This book reminded me of the movie The Last Song (I still haven't read the book).

9. The Juliet Club by Suzanne Harper

This is a fun homage to Shakespeare and though the title mentions Juliet, the story is also a modern retelling of Much Ado About Nothing. Teenager Kate Sanderson has sworn off boys after she is painfully dumped. Her dad is teaching at a summer seminar on Shakespeare in Verona, Italy and Kate will be going along as a student. Kate and her fellow "Shakespeare scholars" answer letters written to Juliet and put on the play Romeo and Juliet where Kate is cast as the lead. Will Kate be able to resist the chance for love when she is surrounded by the romantic atmosphere of Verona? The Juliet Club reminds me a little of the movie Letters to Juliet. If you like romantic comedy and reading about Italy, this fun little YA book might be a great pick for your beach bag.

10. Amy and Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Amy and Roger's Epic Detour is both funny and sad. Amy is mourning the loss of her dad and her mom has just sold their home to move across the country. Amy will be traveling there with Roger, the son of her mom's friend and a boy she doesn't really know. Along the way, they share adventures but also help each other over some serious pain. This book is great for those who enjoy road trip fiction.

These are just a few of my favorite beach reads. 
What books would you pack in your beach bag?


  1. Amy & Roger is one of my favorites! It's a great pick for the beach. :) Great list.

    My Top Ten

  2. I want to read Austenland so badly. I love Shannon Hale!

  3. Okay, Stay and The Juliet Club would be on my list. Haven't heard of either one. Thanks.

  4. I picked Austenland too, I loved that book!

  5. I love anything by Sophie Kinsella. Still haven't gotten around to reading I've Got Your Number though. So maybe I'll read that this summer. I also want to try Austenland since I love Jane Austen. Great picks! My Top Ten Tuesday

  6. I've only read a couple of these but based on that and the covers, these all look like great beach reads. The only thing is that I hope they're paperback-I never feel right bringing a hardback to the beach even if it's a relatively skinny one.

  7. I'd read just anything that Sophie Kinsella wrote and I totally agree on you with Amy & Roger's. Awesome list! :D

    Drop by my Top 10?

  8. Amy & Roger's Epic Detour is on my must-read list for this summer. Also, I'm currently re-reading the first Shopaholic book. Great list!

    My Top Ten Tuesday

  9. YES! I was just thinking Sophie is perfect for summer. So light, so funny, so easy breezy.

  10. oooh so many on my to read list that you're just reinforcing. I've got Austenland on my stack I may just have to start that today

    here's my TTT

  11. Great list :)
    I haven't read any of the ones you've listed yet but they're all on my tbr list :) +New follower
    Here's my Top10 post :)

    -Kimberly @ Turning The Pages

  12. Amy & Roger is going on my TBR list now. Thanks for the recommendation.

  13. I go for lighter reads for beach/summer too. You have several on your list that I have not read but will look into. Thanks for wonderful varied list.

  14. My number 1 is the exact same as your number 1. Anything by Sophie Kinsella is beach perfect. I have Austenland on my to-read list! Definitely need to get to that one soon!


Reading Extensively is now an award free blog. Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a comment. I enjoy receiving feedback! Due to increase in spam, I've enabled comment moderation. Sorry for any inconvenience!