Sunday, March 11, 2012

It's Monday, What Are You Reading (99)





It's Monday, What Are You Reading is a fun weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey where we share what we've read and reviewed over the past week and what we plan to read next.


I only finished two books this past week but both were really good. This week I will be attending the PLA (Public Library Association) Conference in Philadelphia. I am really looking forward to the sessions as well as doing some sightseeing with my sister. I likely won't have a lot of time for reading except on the flights and at the airport.




Books read:



I thought this was a creative and fantastic novel. I didn't think I'd like it but I really enjoyed it. It is nice when a book lives up to the hype!




The House at Tyneford reminded me of The Countess Below Stairs. It took a little while for me to get involved in the story and at first I did find Elise annoying but that quickly changed once she arrived in England. I've heard this book compared to Kate Morton's works and I will be reading The House at Riverton soon so I'll see how they stack up. It has also been said that this would appeal to fans of Downton Abbey and I'd agree. 


Books reviewed:

The World of Downton Abbey by Jessica Fellowes
The Lost Wife by Alyson Richman


Currently reading:



So far, I like this historical fantasy novel. I have high hopes for it. Grave Mercy has been compared to Graceling, a book that I liked but didn't love because I had some issues with it. 


What I might read next:



This is the final book in the Parasol Protectorate series and I'm looking forward to it. I also enjoy reading funny books on vacation as opposed to serious ones so this might be just perfect.




I've already read this one but it was back in the summer of 2010 so I don't remember the story well. I thought it would be a good idea to reread before I pick up Out of Sight, Out of Time. Ally Carter will be at PLA this week and I am attending her author lunch. I don't know if she is signing books but unfortunately this is on my Kindle. Probably not a good idea for her to sign my Kindle screen :)

15 comments:

  1. Both books you read look good. I have Smoke and Bone, have had it for awhile now and your comments make me want to read it soon!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Cannot wait to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I look forward to seeing what you think of it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. The Natasha Solomons book is on my TBR as well. Await your review.

    ReplyDelete
  4. So glad Daughter of Smoke and Bone was a winner, I'm looking forward to reading it. Have an awesome time at PLA and have fun with your sis ... sounds like a fun week all round.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Have not heard the comparison of Grave Mercy to Graceling but that bodes well for my reading enjoyment as I loved Graceling. I hope to start this soon and that it works for you!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I also have high hopes for Grave Mercy - I haven't read anything like it yet so I'm pretty excited. I also just noticed your post about the Downtown Abbey challenge. I am so far behind with this series - I haven't seen it but have heard nothing but the most amazing things about it. I think I'm just going to have to order seasons 1 and 2 on amazon!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I have been wanting to read Ally Carter's books-they look so fun!
    Here's my link: http://writingchristiannovels.blogspot.com/2012/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-10.html

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love the sound of the House of Tyneford.xx

    ReplyDelete
  9. Oh I have Grave Mercy too! It's not on my list but I hope to get to it VERY soon! I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone! I can't wait to read your review! Happy Reading to you!

    http://mustreadfaster.blogspot.com/2012/03/what-are-you-reading-monday-10.html

    ReplyDelete
  10. Looking forward to seeing what you think of Grave Mercy! I can't wait to get started on it!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Glad you enjoyed Daughter of Smoke & Bone! Can't wait to see your review :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. liking the cover of The House at Tyneford ~ hoping that bodes well for reading the contents :))

    ReplyDelete
  13. I have Soulless on my TBR. My goal is to finish Angelology. Please come see what else I'm reading.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I really like the sound of Grave Mercy. Have a fab week! See what I'm reading here. Tasha @ A Trillian Books xxx

    ReplyDelete

Reading Extensively is now an award free blog. Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a comment. I enjoy receiving feedback! Due to increase in spam, I've enabled comment moderation. Sorry for any inconvenience!