Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Top Ten Readalikes

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. There is a new subject each week and this week's topic is "Top Ten Books To Read If You Like These Popular Books/Authors".

I consider the term "readalike" to be a little misleading. The books I suggest for each popular title are similar but not exactly alike.

If you liked Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, try:

The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley
Lady of the Glen by Jennifer Roberson
At the Water's Edge by Sara Gruen

If you liked Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, try:

The Promise of Stardust by Priscille Sibley
Still Alice by Lisa Genova
Inside the O'Briens by Lisa Genova
PS, I Love You by Cecelia Ahern
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

If you liked The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, try:

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (not YA fiction but may appeal to older teens)

If you liked Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling, try:

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

If you liked Cinder by Marissa Meyer, try:

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund
Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund
Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis
These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell

If you liked The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson, try:

The Winner's Curse by Marie Rutkoski
The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas
The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace
Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder

If you liked The Selection by Kiera Cass, try:

The Choosing by Rachelle Dekker
Matched by Ally Condie
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
The Jewel by Amy Ewing

If you liked The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah, try:

The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

If you liked The Help by Kathryn Stockett, try:

The Supremes at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat by Edward Kelsey Moore
Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman
Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler
Lay That Trumpet in Our Hands by Susan Carol McCarthy
The Dry Grass of August by Anna Jean Mayhew
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford

If you liked The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini, try:

The Pearl That Broke Its Shell by Nadia Hashimi
When The Moon is Low by Nadia Hashimi
Running the Rift by Naomi Benaron
Island of a Thousand Mirrors by Nayomi Munaweera


  1. This is such a great list! I am definitely bookmarking this page. I am dying to read Code Name Verity (loved Nightingale) and I liked your Outlander readalike suggestions.

  2. This list is awesome!! I've read a few of them, and I have a few more on my TBR that I really, really want to read. I'm excited to check out the ones I've not heard of before!! Great list!! :)

  3. Hi! Love this variety. I loved both of Hosseini's books, so I'm definitely interested in your recs. Thanks :)
    My TTT

  4. definitely checking out your recommendations for The Help bc I loved it and Hotel on the Corner! My TTT

  5. Ooh Ink and Bone is on my TBR!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/29/top-ten-tuesday-24/

  6. You have listed awesome books! I love the Lunar Chronicles, but still need to read Stitching Snow!

    Our TTT

    Ashley @ The Quiet Concert

  7. Thank you for this read-alike post! I love these type of helpful articles because someone else is doing all the research for me :)
    I've read a number of these, and added a few more titles to my wishlist.


Reading Extensively is now an award free blog. Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a comment. I enjoy receiving feedback! Due to increase in spam, I've enabled comment moderation. Sorry for any inconvenience!