Monday, May 4, 2015

Sunday Post (3)/It's Monday What Are You Reading

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. It's Monday, What Are You Reading is a fun weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey where we share what we've read and reviewed over the past week and what we plan to read next. In Sheila's absence you can participate by sharing your post on Twitter #IMWAYR.

I am just getting over a bad head cold that was making its rounds at work. It is nice to finally feel better though I still need to keep tissues nearby. The timing worked out well since I am taking a trip this coming weekend to Williamsburg, Virginia. I've always wanted to see Colonial Williamsburg. I'd hoped to pick up a travel guide at Barnes and Noble but their U.S. travel book section kind of sucked. Nothing on Virginia at all. I will have to do some research online this week.

This past weekend I visited my sister and also got to see my parents when they drove over to her house on Sunday. The weather was beautiful and we spent a lot of time outdoors. Unfortunately I neglected to apply sunscreen to my face and though I didn't burn (one of the perks of my skin tone) I do have a very red nose at the moment. I think I learned a valuable lesson :)

Last two weeks on my blog:

All the Rage by Courtney Summers (review)
An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir (review)

Books read:

Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby

I liked this book but I preferred Emery Lord's The Start of Me and You. Both books look at how a teenage girl moves on after the death of her boyfriend. I think what bothered me about Things We Know By Heart was Quinn's continuous lying though I did like her close relationship with her family. The book reminded me a lot of the film Return to Me but in the film the heart transplant patient falls in love with the grieving widower who doesn't know she has his wife's heart.

All the Rage by Courtney Summers

This was definitely a powerful and emotional story. I already posted my review while my thoughts were fresh.

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

This is a charming book about a grumpy man whose life is changed when new neighbors move in. There is humor as well as some touching moments. My entire book group loved it. Perfect for fans of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared.

First Time in Forever by Sarah Morgan

Not my favorite of her books but I liked the setting and I plan to try the rest of the series.

Inside the O'Briens by Lisa Genova

Almost as good as Still Alice and there are some really emotional moments. The story is set up very similarly to that book but the author does a good job with the setting and nailing the voice of the male narrator (in my opinion anyway). I learned a lot about Huntington's Disease which is incurable and genetically transferred. Keep tissues on hand!

Currently reading:

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I am hopefully going to finish this in the next few days. I really like this retelling of Beauty and the Beast with fairies. Not quite a teen novel as it is a little steamier (though not as steamy as some of the "bodice rippers" I read as a teen).

The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas (reread)

I am listening to this one on audio and I like the narrator. I think he does a great job portraying both Iolanthe and Titus. It is interesting to me that I absolutely loved the book when I first read it but now as I reread it I feel frustrated with the main characters. It is still an excellent book though!

What I plan to read next:

Nowhere but Here by Katie McGarry

New books received:

Sophomore Year is Greek to Me by Meredith Zeitlin

Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry (review)


  1. I'm reading Court of Thorns and Roses this week too,

    Have a great week,
    Shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

  2. Glad you are feeling better. Have a great trip to Virginia. Looking forward to Katie McGarry's book. Have a great week.

  3. Glad you're getting to feel better. I agree that All the Rage was pretty intense. I loved A Court of Thorns and Roses, didn't realize it was set to a little older than teen with its 19 year old main character. Have a great week!
    Check out my Sunday Post

  4. Love all your book choices. I'm looking forward to No-Where But Here and I'm so glad to here you loved A Man Called Ove and Inside the O'Briens ... me too!
    Good timing kicking that head cold before your trip to Williamsburg; enjoy. Have a wonderful week, happy reading. I'm off to check out your review of All the Rage.

  5. I really want to read Inside the O' Briens. Glad to hear you thought it was as good as Still Alice, because I loved that book.

  6. I hope you are feeling better soon! I also got sunburn this weekend and I even had lotion on!! That sun was strong but man, it felt good after the winter we had. I'm glad you liked Things We Know by Heart. I enjoyed The Start of Me and You a bit more as well, but I still thought Things We Know by Heart was pretty entertaining. I loved her family in the book as well. I can't wait to hear your thoughts on Court of Thorns and Roses...looking forward to that one! I also thought Sophomore Year is Greek to Me was a cute summertime read...nothing mind blowing, but funny and charming. Can't wait to hear your thoughts! Enjoy your books and your trip to Virginia!


Reading Extensively is now an award free blog. Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a comment. I enjoy receiving feedback! Due to increase in spam, I've enabled comment moderation. Sorry for any inconvenience!