Sunday, May 19, 2013

It's Monday, What Are You Reading (146)

It's Monday, What Are You Reading is a fun weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey where we share what we've read and reviewed over the past week and what we plan to read next.

I have more books on my "read" list this week because I missed last week's post and I also read four books this week for a read-a-thon. This week I probably won't have as much time to read so I've only added two books to my list.

In other news I went to see Star Trek: Into Darkness over the weekend and I loved it! I also got caught up on season two of Game of Thrones. Now I just need to get caught up on the books.

Books read:

Maid of Secrets by Jennifer McGowan

I liked this Tudor spy novel and I hope there will be more. It isn't quite on the level of Fiona Buckley's (Ursula Blanchard) Tudor spy mysteries for adults but it was entertaining.

School Spirits by Rachel Hawkins

This was such a fun book to read. I think I like Izzy more than Sophie and it was nice to have the perspective of a main character without supernatural powers. I loved her new friends too and can't wait to see what Rachel Hawkins does with this new series.

Nantucket Blue by Leila Howland

I liked this beach read and think it would appeal to fans of Jessi Kirby or Sarah Dessen. 

Vanity Fare by Megan Caldwell

I liked the idea behind this book and I liked the final love interest but it was unsatisfactory in a way because the other love interest is so obviously a jerk and I didn't think the heroine should have given him as much time as she did. 

Agent Gates and the Secret Adventures of Devonton Abbey by Camaren Subhiyah

If you are a fan of Downton Abbey and enjoy parody (Downton Sixbey, anyone?) you should give this graphic novel a try. One of my favorite parts is when the Dowager Countess character's withering glare has superpowers. I hope this will turn into a series!

Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris

By now if you are a reader of the Sookie books you've likely heard what the final outcome is and seen all the one star reviews. My take is that it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be (I like who she ended up with) but it was still a weak way to end the series.

Books reviewed:

Golden by Jessi Kirby

Currently reading:

Looking For Me by Beth Hoffman

I absolutely loved Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and so far I love this book. It reminds me of Mary Kay Andrews a little too in the use of details and the Southern setting. I've already nearly cried once but then I am a bit of a sap...

What I plan to read next:

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

This is a book discussion book that I need to have finished before next Tuesday. I am not sure if I will read this next or if I will read what I want to read and pick up Inferno instead. I have heard really good things about Beautiful Ruins at least and I like that it is set in Italy.

Inferno by Dan Brown

I have been pretty disappointed by Dan Brown's books in the past, especially the last one. I found it easy to figure out. I hope I will like Inferno more especially because of the connection to Dante.


  1. You won me over with Agent Gates with the words Downton Abbey, I will need to look into that one. You accomplished so much this past week that I'm a little jealous.

  2. I am dying to see Star Trek: Into Darkness. I loved the first movie and the glimpses of this one look fabulous!

    Have a great reading week

    Shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

  3. Looking for me is the one I am hoping to get my hands on.

  4. Inferno and Maid of Secrets both sound intriguing. I had no idea Dan Brown had another book out. :)

    Enjoy reading!

    Take a look at what I'm reading this week.

  5. The Beth Hoffman book looks like it is right up my alley. I gave up on the Southern Vampire series after about the 4th or 5th book, oh well.

  6. The Beth Hoffman book is right up my alley. I gave up on the Southern Vampires after book 4 or 5.

  7. I liked the Star Trek movie too.
    I'm looking forward to reading the Dan Brown book.

  8. I will have to check Beth Hoffman out this summer - I haven't read her yet. :) Beautiful Ruins sounds good too.

    I felt the same way about Vanity Fare. And I haven't read the last Sookie book, and I have avoided all spoilers. I want to read it to find out who she ends up with, but the last few have been really not good, and I am not expecting this one to be any different. :(

  9. So excited to see Star Trek-I am waiting until my sister comes home from college this week so we can see it together and I've done a pretty good job at avoiding spoilers (so far). Nice list this week-congrats on getting so much reading done!

  10. I'm so glad you liked Nantucket Blue. Isn't it such a fun beach read? I am a bit behind with the Sookie Stackhouse series. I am nervous to hear how it ends. I also really liked Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, so I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on her latest book. I highly recommend Beautiful Ruins! I hope you get around to reading it soon. Enjoy your books!

  11. I really need to pick up a Beth Hoffman book - I keep hearing good things about them.

    I've only read 1 Dan Brown book - The DaVinci Code. I think I need to reread that one and then pick up some of his other books.

    Have a great week and thanks for stopping by my blog!
    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

  12. I can't wait to see the new Star Trek movie. My husband and I just started season 2 of Game of Thrones. I should read the books, too. I'm currently reading The Host by Stephenie Meyer.

  13. Some great looking books there. The Agent Gates one looks awesome! See what I'm reading here.

    Tasha @ A Trillian Books xxx

  14. Glad you found School Spirits to be a fun story! And you've made me a bit more curious about Nantucket Blue - I'm definitely a Dessen & Kirby fan :)

    Have fun reading BR & Inferno!

  15. Beth Hoffman is an author I'd like to read, I've heard good things about Saving CeeCee. I have been trying to read the Sooki series forever, I guess it's good that the last book is already out so I can read them all in a row. Will I? Probably not, but at least I need to get started! Here's my Monday post if you'd like to stop by.

  16. Loving the books on your list, I loved Saving CeeCee too, dying to read Looking For Me! I like Sarah Dessen so I might give Nantucket Blue a try. Good to hear Star Trek was awesome, I can't wait to see it.
    Have a wonderful week and happy reading :)

  17. I've heard Beautiful Ruins is very good. Enjoy your week!

  18. I want to read 'Inferno' by Dan Brown too.


Reading Extensively is now an award free blog. Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a comment. I enjoy receiving feedback! Due to increase in spam, I've enabled comment moderation. Sorry for any inconvenience!