Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Review: My Foolish Heart

My Foolish Heart
By Susan May Warren
Publication date: May 1, 2011

My review:

Isadora Presley has been housebound since the accident that put her father in assisted living and took her mother's life. Issy had a nervous breakdown after the traumatic events and she can hardly venture outside. The residents of her small town of Deep Haven, Minnesota would be surprised to discover that Issy is also the voice behind Miss Foolish Heart, the popular radio personality/relationship advice expert. Only her best friend Lucy and her boss know that little secret. Issy has never even had a date and it doesn't look likely since even a trip to the grocery store is out of the question. Then Caleb Knight moves in next door. Caleb comes to Deep Haven hoping to be the new high school football coach in spite of a disability from his time in Iraq, a disability he chooses to keep secret. From the moment Issy meets Caleb she has a negative opinion of him. Issy can't help but notice her new neighbor's messy yard and big truck. Caleb is intrigued by his new neighbor but not sure of how to reach out to her. While waiting for a sports radio show to come on he catches part of a Miss Foolish Heart broadcast and decides to seek her advice. Soon he strikes up a friendship with Miss Foolish Heart, confiding his secrets without knowing she lives right next door. Issy is happy that her show's ratings have gone up because of a new caller, BoyNextDoor. She finds herself looking forward to chatting with him never realizing that BoyNextDoor is a lot closer than she thinks. Can Issy and Caleb overcome their past hurts to be together or will their secrets destroy any chance at love?

Susan May Warren's books have been hit or miss for me but with My Foolish Heart she gets it right. The premise sounds a little like a Hollywood romantic comedy but there is depth to this story. I liked that the main characters are not "perfect". Instead they are deeply wounded, flawed, and more realistic because of it. I enjoyed watching Issy and Caleb grow and seeing their relationship develop. I really liked Issy's best friend Lucy and how supportive she is. Lucy and the other secondary character Seb also have their own issues to deal with. Seb is hoping to reclaim some former glory and make amends by becoming the new football coach and Lucy is trying to get out from under her past and the weight of business woes. They also have a shared past that they have to deal with. While their struggles add to the message of the book, it also detracts from the focus on Issy and Caleb at times. 

My Foolish Heart is part of the Deep Haven series but it can be read as a standalone book. I've only read the first two books in the Deep Haven series and it was a treat to return to this charming town. The romance is sweet but it is the uplifting message and realistic characters that drew me in. I would suggest this book to fans of Denise Hunter.

Readalikes: The Seaside Letters by Denise Hunter, The Convenient Groom by Denise Hunter, How Sweet It Is by Alice J. Wisler, Sarah Sundin, Tamara Leigh

Note: I received a copy of this book as part of a blog tour courtesy of Litfuse Publicity in exchange for an honest review.

1 comment:

  1. awww!! This sounds really good! I love the uplifting, hopeful kinds of books.


Reading Extensively is now an award free blog. Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a comment. I enjoy receiving feedback! Due to increase in spam, I've enabled comment moderation. Sorry for any inconvenience!