Friday, April 8, 2011

Review: Out for Blood

Out for Blood
By Alyxandra Harvey
Publication date: November 1, 2010

My review:

Hunter Wild was raised to fight vampires, like the rest of her family. Her grandfather is a well known member of Helios-Ra and Hunter is now a student at the Helios-Ra Academy. Hunter always viewed vampires as the enemy but due to her close friendship with Kieran Black, Hunter was able to meet the new vampire queen, Helena Drake and her family. Since meeting Kieran's girlfriend Solange and her brothers, Hunter has begun to question her assumptions that the only good vampire is a staked vampire. When strange things begin to happen at the Academy and students develop a serious illness, Hunter turns to the Drakes for assistance. Quinn Drake is known for his flirtatious ways but Hunter seems to get under his skin. As they investigate, it becomes clear that someone in Helios-Ra has decided that the safety of the students is not as important as their own vampire killing agenda.

Unlike the previous book, Blood Feud, this third book in the Drake Chronicles is fast paced and filled with romance, humor, and suspense. Hunter is a spunky heroine reminiscent of Rose Hathaway from the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. If she wasn't such a capable character in her own right, I think I would have found it annoying that she fell in love with a vampire. Instead, she is more than a match for Quinn (he aptly gives her the nickname Buffy). Their chemistry is what makes this such a fun read. The mystery itself was predictable as far as the identity of the person behind the suspicious attacks and illness but that did not detract from an enjoyable reading experience. It was interesting to get a look at the "other side" through the eyes of Hunter and the other students at the Academy.

Out for Blood may not be anything new in the world of YA paranormal romance but it is certainly entertaining and better than some of the titles out there. I liked it more than Blood Feud and just as much as the first book in the series, Hearts at Stake. I would suggest this to fans of Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead because of the strong heroine and the school setting. This would be a good book to pick up when you are in the mood for a light paranormal romance though I would strongly recommend starting with Hearts at Stake if you are new to this series.

Readalikes: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead, Slayed by Amanda Marrone, Paranormalcy by Kiersten White


  1. This is my favourite of The Drake Chronicles so far. Quinn = hot! I want all the books to be about these two!!

  2. I have not read this series but I am quite intrigued by your description of the protagonist. She sounds like my kinda gal. Great review!


Reading Extensively is now an award free blog. Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a comment. I enjoy receiving feedback! Due to increase in spam, I've enabled comment moderation. Sorry for any inconvenience!