Friday, July 30, 2010

Review: Going Too Far

Going Too Far
By Jennifer Echols
Publication date: 2009

My review:

When Meg McPherson and her friends get drunk and walk on a dangerous bridge, they are arrested by John After. A young cop new to the Police Force, John wants to teach Meg and the others a lesson to keep them safe. As her punishment, Meg has to ride around with John in his patrol car during spring break and at the end of the week she has to submit a written proposal on how to prevent other teens from making the same mistake. From the beginning, John and Meg are drawn to each other but they both have secrets holding them back. In order to be together, they will both have to confront their deepest fears.

Going Too Far is the story of two people who haven't been able to let go of the past. Meg and John have intense feelings for each other and their relationship develops very quickly. They are on the surface, polar opposites. Meg has bright blue hair and a rebellious streak while John is a straitlaced cop who values rules. They start to fall in love but Meg is not the kind of girl who likes to be in relationships and she can't wait to move away from their small Alabama town. John is the right person to get Meg to open up about what makes her run and she is able to force him to deal with his reasons for staying. All of this happens during one week. I wish that the book was longer so that the relationship and especially the changes in the characters could be given time to develop.

Meg is quite a character. She is not afraid to say what she thinks although sometimes she doesn't know when to quit. At first I didn't like her very much because she seemed determined to do the wrong thing and she talked back all the time. Then as I got to know her and understand her motivations I liked her more. I think she came across as an authentic teen voice. John however is my favorite character. I wish that some of the chapters were written from his point of view. He really cared about Meg and wanted her to grow to be a better person. He also looked past her blue hair and rebellious persona and he liked her for who she was inside. Though I did have some issues with how quickly the characters changed, I did like this book. This is the first Jennifer Echols book that I've read but it won't be the last.

Readalikes: Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles, Return to Paradise by Simone Elkeles, This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen, Bad Apple by Laura Ruby, Crazy Beautiful by Lauren Baratz-Logsted


  1. I haven't read any of Jennifer's books but really want to. Perhaps I will pick up this one first; it definitely sounds promising and Meg sounds like a fun character. Thanks for the great review and btw, I love that you include Readalikes. Brilliant!

  2. I can't believe I've never read anything by this author yet! What a shame. Going too Far sounds amazing, though. Very realistic and relatable, I'm sure.

  3. I've only read Forget You, which also has a pretty unlikable character to begin with, and I really loved Echols writing. I've read lots of times that Going To far is better than Forget You ,I really want to read it!

  4. I really want to read the book. I see so many bloggers read Echols recently and I felt so outdated =(

  5. Great review! I'm going to read my first Jennifer Echols book this week, Forget You. This one sounds good too so I'm going to add it to my list. =)

  6. I haven't read a Jennifer Echol's book yet but I'd love to. This one sounds good!


Reading Extensively is now an award free blog. Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a comment. I enjoy receiving feedback! Due to increase in spam, I've enabled comment moderation. Sorry for any inconvenience!